1421681168826.jpg

Hi! Deb Gonzales here.

I create quality, affordable, project-specific, supplemental materials connecting people with literature. As an educator and fellow author, I am skilled in navigating the needs of the educational and literary worlds.

The intent of this website is to showcase the incredible projects I've been privileged to participate in. Please contact me if you have any questions or desire to discuss a project you'd like to partner with. 

My debut picture book Girls with Guts: The Road to Breaking Barriers and Bashing Records (Charlesbridge, 2019) is the tenacious history of the female athlete from the first Olympic Games to present day, including the passage of Title IX.

Stop by Deb's Author Website

Stop by Deb's Author Website

Podcast coming soon!

Podcast coming soon!

Lizzie Flying Solo

Lizzie Flying Solo

Guides by Deb – Keeping your books in the hearts of young readers and in the hands of those who care for them.

The guide linked below was created by Debbie Gonzales, MFA. Deb is a career educator, curriculum consultant, former school administrator and adjunct professor, and once served as a SCBWI RA for the Austin Chapter. She's the author of six “transitional” readers for a New Zealand publisher and the forthcoming non-fiction picture book Girls with Guts: The Road to Breaking Barriers and Bashing Records (Charlesbridge, 2019). Deb earned her MFA in writing for children and young adults from the Vermont College of Fine Arts.

Are you interested in discussing a reader’s guide project? If so, click here. Deb’s eager to hear from you!

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

Author: Nanci Turner Steveson

ISBN: 978-0062673183

Publisher: HarperCollins

Summary: A lyrical, poignant middle grade novel about embracing change, accepting help from others, and finding a place to call home. Perfect for fans of Raymie Nightingale.

Lizzie St. Claire wants to be invisible. Forced to move out of her home, she and her mom now live in a transitional housing shelter, Good Hope, until they can get back on their feet.

Lizzie just wants to keep her head down at Good Hope and her new school, so she doesn’t have to admit the real reason she and her mom lost everything.

But when Lizzie finds herself at the nearby Birchwood Stables, some new friends—along with the arrival of a frightened pony named Fire—help Lizzie to open up and accept help from those around her, even if it means she’ll have more to lose if things change again.

Book Trailer Construction Guide-2.jpg
Caught!: Nabbing History's Most Wanted

Caught!: Nabbing History's Most Wanted

Stubby the Fearless Squid

Stubby the Fearless Squid